La Cité College (Ontario)

La Cité College was created in 1989, becoming Ontario’s first French-language college of applied arts and technology. The College opened its doors to 2,300 students in September 1990 in temporary facilities on St. Laurent Boulevard, in Ottawa. Five years later, La Cité inaugurated a brand new campus on a 60-acre land along Aviation Parkway, in Ottawa’s east end. Ever since, La Cité has been exploring new ways to innovate and to position itself as a leader among the francophone community in the National Capital Region, in Ontario and across Canada.

For more than 25 years, La Cité has made student success its main priority. The various programs and support services that are offered to students help ensure that each and every one of these students gets the most out of his or her college degree and is ready to excel in the labor market. So far, over 30,000 graduates have proven that our approach is efficient.

In September 2017, more than 5,000 students were enrolled at La Cité. The College now offers 140 training programs in sectors as diverse as administration, agriculture, architecture, biotechnology, communications, construction, electronics, emergency services, health sciences, hospitality, media, security and social sciences, just to name a few. In most of these programs, terminology is taught both in French and English, therefore ensuring that graduates are highly qualified.

In addition to offering state-of-the-art labs and facilities, La Cité’s main campus has a residence that can accommodate 250 students. La Cité also offers most of its construction and mechanics related programs at its Skilled Trades Institute in Orleans, which opened its doors in 2011. The College’s programs in agriculture are offered in Alfred, halfway between Ottawa and Montreal. La Cité is also present in Hawkesbury as well as in Toronto.

Finally, to help create a dynamic student life, students can count on dedicated staff members, as La Cité is recognized on a yearly basis as one of the top employers in the National Capital Region.